385 et al. Questions for the experts

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff Hunt

Reaction score
I just found this site through a link listed on ebay and can't believe I haven't found it before now. I have alot to say and it will be diffficult to try to keep it short and sweet, but I'll try.

I have been reading some old posts with great interest about folks souping up saws, especially the claims of increased life. I've been working on saws for the past ten years doing almost everything myself because by the time I take it somewhere to get it fixed, I could have already done it myself and thus I do.

We started out running 394s and had 6 total, 3 low-tops 3 highs. These saws ran relatively forever. The biggest problem being the plastic intake manifolds of which I've probably went through a bushel basket of them along with nearly as many needle valves. I still have 3 of these saws that run, albiet from various levels of rebuilds. Four of the 6 ran 6+ years in various levels of service without any major work. One of the other two broke a piston when almost new, re-jugged and ran it nearly 9 years. Only other bad thing I can say about them is they can be tough to start when hot when they get a little age on them and everything isn't up to snuff and that along with weight is the reason we went to smaller saws.

When the 371s came out we bought one and found out that they were junk. Re-jugged it once because it was almost new and then gave up on them when it ate the crank bearings again fairly quickly. Everything about this saw sucked. Not enough power for our use anyway.