550XP/562XP Long Term Reliability

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RonL

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
These two saws have been out for some time. I'm thinking of acquiring one or the other this summer. To those that have beat on them at length, how have they held up? How have they adapted to different mixes?
I have tuned all my 2t equipment to run on Motul 710 2t oil mixed with Sunoco canned gas at 32 to 1. And NO, I do NOT want to start another oil thread. That's what I'll be using for the foreseeable future and I would like to know if either of these saws would fit into my long term plans.

Again, the question is only: will either of these saws function and run well in the long run using my standard mix?

I log for a living and have no qualms about recommending a 550 or 562.
AS far as mix I use nothing but Husqvarna XP that I mix 40:1

Funny thing is that before I joined this site I spent months reading posts going back years. I made a comment at that time that things go in circles. People were bemoaning the fact that the 346 XP was being obsoleted and that they better stock up. I made some kind of comment that the posters were crying about the MS460 being replaced by the the MS461 and that they would be accepting the 461 when the 462 was coming out. Things come full circle.

My question is: have the 550XP and the 562XP gained the status that the previous 346 and 357 attained? Are they accepted as being the working mans tool? Are they turning out to be what's needed to do the job at hand?

Further perspective I guess.

I never used a 346xp for any length of time so I can't comment.
I bought two new 357xp's for work over the years. Solid saws that I have nothing but good things to say about.