6.6L Duramax

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barnie

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Do any of you guys own a GMC 6.6L duramax diesel with the Allison auto trans [ 2007 ] what are some of the problems with these trucks, I'm thinking of buying one and I'm just beginning to research them. Its a 4x4 king cab short box with the 4x4 shifter on the floor.

Man I am JEALOUS! My dream is the GMC CREW DUALLY!and of course 4x4. HEard nothing but good things but pushed one of the road the other day. Lady said that it just quit.

This is probably the wrong forum, but I have a 2004 Duramax.

Only problem was the injectors, which was a 2004 problem. Replaced under warranty, other than that, I have 104,000 miles on it with no problems.

kinda figured I was in the wrong forum

Not if your gonna use it for hauln' firewood:) I've got a 2005 sierra 2500hd (6.0 gas) and it has been very good to me. Man I'd love one of those disel's but I can't justify the cost of a new truck.

injectors, crank sensors( friends truck is one #3), decent truck otherwise.. my major concern for it is no ground clearance..

The cost is a concern! The 07 is a little louder than the 05 from what I hear and fuel mileage seems 1mpg less avr. I have an 05 ext cab long box 107k, the speedometer is bad and the spring broke on the cover of my arm rest between the two seats. Other than that a perfect truck but has a rattle in the steering column because of bad deseign but it just rattles a little bit when taking a corner and the mech. says it will never break, it's just a little loose. 20-22 mpg hwy if I take it easy.

Its for hauling firewood for sure, I considered a gas engine but for loads like 6 - 7 ton I'd burn to much gas as one of my friends bought his truck gas just because the price of diesel was higher and now he regrets this decision.