Another Weird Unidentified Firewood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fellin Feller

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
P1000932.JPG P1000931.JPG Here is some firewood I cut off of a dead tree in Maryland. There is a picture of the dead tree standingP1000929.JPG . About 4 feet thick at the bottom. The wood has straight grain, a light color, and medium weight.

i'm thinking white oak. any chance we could see a pic of a split? or maybe the dead leaves on the ground?? if there is any leaves left??

little different bark than the ash around here but the lines under the bark looks like EAB damage.
Chad

Last fall I purchased a load of logs that was mostly Oak and a few hard maple and some black ash was in the mix. While I was cutting I found a few of the logs that lookied like the wood in the above picture. I've been cutting wood for some 35 years and never saw a tree with this type of bark. This tree/log was cut the year before so it bucked up nice, a bit hard to split because of the strings but nothing major. The wood dried fast and soon was as hard as a rock. I even burned some within a week of splitting. It burned nice but not much ash. The grain was tight so I saved a few of the longer logs for hammer and axe handles. When the supplier came with my second load of logs, I had asked him what this funny wood was and he told me "White Ash" We have a lot of black and yellow ash in the area but this tree was cut some 80 miles northeast of us so they must grow in that area. My guess would be White Ash....

Some strange looking stuff for sure, and obviously diseased. I'm thinking some kind of elm, just by the bark thickness.
But I'll hedge my bets and say eucalyptus.