anybody ever work on tractors?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patrick62

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I am thinking about working on this one. Hmmm, I don't seem to have a pic on this computer of the thing...

Anyway, it is a old massy ferguson with the continental 4 cylinder in it. It has about a million hours on it already. If it is running on all 4 cylinders (doesn't happen often) it has enough power. Fouls plugs on a regular basis. if you don't tighten the plugs up good it leaks oil down the block! somebody in it's past removed the thermostat to keep it from heating up much, probably helps!
The best oil pressure I have seen is about 20 psi, and it drops from there.

I am going to have to rebuild it. I have never worked on a sleeved engine before. The question is should I break the tractor in half or try the "easy way out" and do the thing with it still in one piece. Evidently it is possible...

I sort of like the old beast, and it has done a decent job of moving logs around for me.

If it is, indeed, a sleeved engine block, I'd be inclined to leave the tractor in one piece. Remove the head and the oil pan, and you can get at all that you need to.

The exceptions, I guess, would be main bearings. And, if you decided to replace the clutch plate or throw-out bearing, you'll have to split it anyway. It may be one of those "six of one; a half-dozen of the other" deals.

Twenty psi of oil pressure may be all you'll ever see, even with a new oil pump and bearings, though I profess ignorance about that make & model. My old 8N ran between 5-20, depending on the temperature. If there was plenty of oil on the dipstick, I didn't worry if it got close to zero, even. When wide-open throttle produces 1500 rpm, a little oil goes a long way. :msp_tongue:

Jon