Anyone tried the Gecko hooks?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreeHouseBldr

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all,
Was looking throught the Sherrill catalog because I need to buy me my own set of climbing spikes. I'm tired of using ones with only 1 strap and bare metal jabbing into my knees. But I don't have enough experience to know what I like in terms of gaff length and style. The catalog talks up the Geckos a bunch. Anyone have experience with these? Comments? Or ... what types of spikes/gaffs *should* I get? I'm 5'9" 150lbs.
-THB

No spikes are good for treehousesbldrs. :hmm3grin2orange:
A better question would be "how to build a tree house without harming the tree?" or "what kind of insurance should I have to build tree houses?"

Not a very useful reply, boo.

FYI, my day job is pruning which is now turning more toward removals, thus the post. Sheesh.

So, any real climbers with real advice out there? It'd be much appreciated.
-THB

I got a pair of Buckingham spurs from a neighbor to try out. I don't know how old they are but they are definitely well used. I never climbed with spurs before so there was certainly a long learning period, but switching to a steel core lanyard certainly made climbing easier because its so easy to flip the steel core up compared to plain rope.

Anyways, the spurs killed my shins, so I started wearing my motocross shin guards, and that solved that problem. I needed to sharpen the gaff quite a bit because the tip was totally blunted over. Once they were sharp, they went into the wood easier and also pulled out easier.

The gaff is about 2.5 inches long and sticks out from the frame at about a 30 degree angle (rough guess). I read that the Gecko gaffs stick out even more, like a 45 degree angle, and that this takes some getting used to from people who learned on regular spurs.