Best plan for 5 Eastern White Pines

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dblack

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys. I am a student at Virginia Tech studying urban forestry. I also do some tree work on the side, within my comfort zone. I have a friend with a group of EWPs in close proximity to her house. They were planted to be a wind break, about 35 years ago and they have good root flare. Currently, two of the trees have the top broken out. There have been some occasions of branches breaking under wind stress(because of maturity?). I don't have enough experience to make an educated decision about what is best for the trees. My friend is concerned that the trees will fall and hit the house, and knowing how brittle EWP is, i'm not sure if that has a large or small likely hood. I definitely have enough experience to climb and remove them but do not want to if the trees are healthy enough to stay. The first and second picture show the trees in relation to the house. The third picture shows the slight lean they have and one of the other pines (spar) that has broken off previously. The 4th picture shows the crown of the ones with the most lean(that are selected to possibly be removed). The last picture is the 5 EWPs that are up for removal and being discussed. Is the lean towards the house that they currently have caused by wind or improper bracing when they were young? Whether to leave them all, trim them, take one, or all five, I am in need of your alls help as to what's best. If it is too hard to make an educated guess by looking at the pictures, I understand. Thanks ahead for any replies.image (1).jpg image (2).jpg image (3).jpg image (4).jpg image (5).jpg

Beautiful property by the way.
Are the prevailing winds coming from their direction?