Best Value Bar Replacement for Stihl 361

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slednut3

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I received a 16" stihl E bar on my 361 when I purchased it and it is time to replace. I am not a professional logger by any means so I do not need the top of the line with the top of the line price, but I hate buying junk. I have searched through the many posts on the "best bar" subject and I think I have narrowed it down to either the Stihl ES, a GB Pro Top, or Windsor Speed Tip. Which is the best way to go?

I got a 24" gb titanium off ebay for $50 a few weeks ago. I haven't used it yet but they seem to get good praise on here from a few that use saws a lot so I figured I would try one. The stihl bars are hard to beat in quality.

The Oregon Power Match or ProLite are good bars. I like the ProLite but Saw Troll says the Stihl E bar is lighter. Currently I run a Stihl ES in 22"/.063. It is heavy but I like the length.

Forgot to add: Look at Bailey's online.

i bought two 18 inch carlton timber champ nk bars and chains and could have bought another bar for less than just the stihl 18 inch bar alone they work great.

The Oregon Power Match or ProLite are good bars. I like the ProLite but Saw Troll says the Stihl E bar is lighter. Currently I run a Stihl ES in 22"/.063. It is heavy but I like the length.

The Stihl E surely is lighter and nicer, but it also is much more expensive, at least here. :msp_wink:

I'm having a good run with the Gb Ti bar. I have had it on for a couple months now. I'm figuring 15-20 tanks now and not even a sign of bar wear. The rails seem to hold up good, and for 40 bucks, it's hard to beat. Looks good too. :) The finish looks close to new. This pic was about 10 tanks in and the paint looks the same now.
0305111354.jpg