chain selection 101

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

58hydraglide

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Was reading a couple of threads on chain sharpening etc. last night and it posed a couple of questions I have that maybe some of you can help me with. I have played around with sawsfor many years and most of my cutting involves felling and firewood cutting. I am a construction contractor and if I need to rip wood I install a larger tooth blade in the saw. My crosscuts are usually don with a smaller tooth saw (I.E. cleaner cuts). The info I read on chain selection usually leads to a .325 chain for ripping which in my world would equate to a finer tooth sawblade.to me that doesn't seem to make any sense. Also for larger bars and larger trees I have read threads that say a skip chain can load up quicker than a standard chain can. My local husky dealer told me that a full 3/8 chain can break on larger bars, which does make sense considering more cutters =more tension on the chain.Of course the simple anwer for larger bars is to go to .404 but that is a rare commodity around here. This may seem like elementary questions but I will tell you other than keeping my chains sharp and well maintained I never research that much into the different types and why. I would love to hear everyones input.