chipper nightmare

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

priest

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Thanks for the warm welcome master blaster and david.

I bought a really nice bucket truck (96 GMC Topkick, perfect working order, diesel, etc) a couple of months ago. Anyways, I've been sitting on an old Mitts and Merrill chipper for a couple of years that I picked up cheap, not having a dump bed to blow chips into (been using the old steel side-wall trailer with a rope around the brush technique for a long while).

So I decided to restore the chipper. Long road. I've put god knows how many hours into it myself and spent a bit of money on different welding and machining work. Well, I got all knew knives in it myself (the old ones didn't want to come out too eagerly). One of the inserts that the wedge/knife goes into was boogered up by some past overzealous owner with a cutting torch, and the drum was out of balance, noticealble by the WAAA, WAAA, WAA, sound when it slowed down. I rigged a knife in that slot anyway, and the thing was chipping like a madman, increasing my productivity by a landslide compared to hauling unchipped brush. But I was afraid it would come apart and hurt somebody, so I took it to a machine shop that came highly reccommended. They say they had all kinds of problems removing the drum, replacing the bearings, etc. and stuck me with a bill of 2 grand. I fired it up in their parking lot and a knife came loose, chewed up half of the 12 brand new teeth, and shot out. Meanwhile I'm losing money working the slow way.