Climbing in Poison ivy???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TOlsen

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a large job to bid in the next couple days. It includes a china berry and a hack berry both about 50 ft tall and right in between two metal buildings. They would be fun trees except they are completely covered in poison ivy! they have several 2" vines growing up the trunks and almost every branch is covered up to about 30'.

Has anyone done much climbing/cutting of trees covered in it? I can get a lift to the trees if I need to, but im still concerned about cutting threw it and spraying chips everywhere. Any advice or experience is welcome.

I would not recommend it if you are sensitized to it. I've been chainsawing on my farm for the past five years removing storm damaged trees and felling trees that were covered just as you described. They make a barrier cream and although I haven't tried it I wish I had. Some folks it doesn't bother them. If I get in it bad then I have to do a round of steroids. When you hit it with a chainsaw it will get on you. The way I handle trees now is I cut about an 18" section of every vine at the base of the tree and treat it so it doesn't grow back. Then I come back 6 months later and very carefully break away the vines from where I'm going to make a cut. But you probably don't have time for that.

Having done some chain sawing on poison ivy, I would not reccomend it.

It is possible to suit up enough to protect yourself but you would still need to clean up your gear and saws afterword.

Full body suit like painters wear is all gotta say. Every time I go cut at the farm I'm clearing I always get it big time pain in the ass. Bid higher then you normally would but wear a full body suit you should be good then lol

Pretty much echoing other comments...but I'd: