Clutch Sticking

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dolmarjay

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi (newbie here),

Hoping some may be able to help. I have a 'Dolmar 109' which was working fine until the other day when I noticed the chain would not spin freely when the engine was off, when I try spinning the chain (engine off) it is turning the engine or when I try to start it the chain spins...So I'm assuming the clutch is sticking ???

1. If this is the case how do I remove the clutch to inspect it or can I tell the clutch is sticking without removing it ?
2. Now for the stupid question... Is the clutch what I see when I have the side cover off, the 'round thingy' that has the sprocket behind it ? (if this has confussed anyone I can try an post a picture !)
3. Is it easy to replace the sprocket on this model ?

One other question, unrealated to this problem, just more for interest sake, is it normal for a chainsaw to leak bar oil when not being used ?

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks...

Sounds as if one or all the springs have let go or maybe a bit of sawdust is caught between the clutch shoes and the drum.

A lot of saws dribble oil when sat down after cutting it's the warm oil in the galleries leaking out under gravity.

McBob.

ozflea said:
Sounds as if one or all the springs have let go or maybe a bit of sawdust is caught between the clutch shoes and the drum.

A lot of saws dribble oil when sat down after cutting it's the warm oil in the galleries leaking out under gravity.

McBob.

Thanks for the quick reply ! May I just ask, are the clutch shoes waht I can see after I have removed the side cover ?