Cut issue and scored piston: how much is too much?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bbaxj

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Sorry for the novel, but I figure too much info is better than not enough. I'm sure this has all been covered before, but I figure every scenario is a little different. Scroll down if all you care about are pics.

Backstory: I'm fairly new to the chainsaw world. I bought a house with a wood burner, and started prepping to get my own firewood. I bought a used Stihl 036 about 2 years ago. It came with 3 20" bars, 1 was good, 1 junk, and 1 unknown, and a bunch of chains(all 3/8" pitch, mostly full chisel). I cut about 10 face chords with it with zero issues, then it started acting up. The first sign of a problem was it started bogging badly and running crappy. Then so did my backup saw. Pretty sure I got a batch of bad gas. I got rid of that, put new fuel in both, then both seemed fine. I replaced the fuel line around the same time just to be safe. After another 5 or so face chords the Stihl started cutting in an arc and getting pretty bogged down in anything thicker than 10" or so. Then when it was sitting on the shelf all the bar oil leaked out and made a mess. It had never had any leaks prior to that. That's pretty much where I'm at now.

First off, the cutting in an arc is worn bar and/or chain, right? I didn't know at the time that I was supposed to flip the bar periodically. I also don't know what it went through prior to my ownership.