Did you guys go to school for this??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twoodward15

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Or were you taught by another? Self taught? I'm new here and looking at some of the replies and they are just phenominal. People asking and getting answers to things that your "normal" joe blow off the street running a saw would never think of. I've dropped my share of trees, but I look like an idiot compared to you guys. I'm safe and know when to NOT do something that I shouldn't be doing, but would like to be better. There's lots of urban trees to cut here. Not thinking of going in to business, but I'd like to be able to help out a friend or get a part time with a treee company if necessary.

i am being taught by several other climbers where i work... I'd never think of trying to be self taught... I mean there is somethings u can experiment with and learn on ur own. But like : whats safe to tie into, what trees are safe to climb, stuff like that can't be done on trail and error on ur own.. u know?

family business so we teach every generation what we know. I also like to read and study constant ways to improve our business/technique.

As for school, I have a degree, but not in arborculture.

BTW. check your PM

When I first started I was taught by 2 different business owners. After I learned the basics I just taught myself through sites like this as well as books.

If you are interested in learning something specific PM me. You are only 45 minutes away and we could just meet up somewhere to climb.

I think a combination of being taught from other professional climbers as well as studying at a training institute would benefit you the most.