Drive sprocket wear. How long should one last?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joseph Acquisto

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Wondering about "real world" wear of chain drive sprockets. How often do they need replacement. I saw one supposed Oregon chain care advisory say to chuck them out every two chains. I guess (hope) they meant after two chains have been resharpened till useless.

I've changed one or two sprockets and the "mark up" almost immediately. I changed them when the wear began to bother me, but did not notice any performance issues. No fast chain wear or tossing chains anyway. Not that I am a performance expert at all.

I generally run three chains per sprocket. I often forget to swap the chains out as regularly as I should. Run the chains until the teeth are breaking off and/or down to toothpicks.

Unless totally trashed, I keep the used sprockets. Never know when you might find some still-good used chains.

I've gotten sprockets on used saws that looked like the sprocket had 5-10 chains run through them to end of life.

I generally run three chains per sprocket. I often forget to swap the chains out as regularly as I should. Run the chains until the teeth are breaking off and/or down to toothpicks.

Unless totally trashed, I keep the used sprockets. Never know when you might find some still-good used chains.

I've gotten sprockets on used saws that looked like the sprocket had 5-10 chains run through them to end of life.

Rotating chains is a good thing. Run chains/rim/sprocket until they are shot. Yes, chains will still cut good until so filed down the teeth start snapping off.

I think this one was shot......

1 worn spur .jpeg

A long long long time. My ms290 that I had for 10 years, cutting 7, or 8, or more cords a year, and I never had to change the sprocket. Probably 1.5 chains a year, about...