Free wood, can anyone id it?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SPED

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Got some free wood yesterday, not a whole lot, but only 12 miles each way, so about 10 bucks in gas. Anyone know what this stuff is? It's real light, so I'm imagining it isn't all that great, but hey the price is right and i'm new at this scrounging thing, so may be worth it to make contacts. The people said it had been dead a while and I believe it, the wood is 26% according to my meter.

Looks like buckeye or something similar. Also looks like juvenile sugar maple, except that the heartwood is a bit dark and it's not a light wood at all.

I bet a 6 pack that it is Red Oak

1) You have Oak leaves at your feet in the pictures so Oak is native to your area.
2) Oak has a smooth bark till it gets about a foot in diameter
3) The wood is discolored from the scar, so IDing by color is difficult

How did it smell when you cut it? Oak can be really aeromatic in a good way.

Sorry about the leaves, they can be deceiving, those are at my house, not where I got the wood. But yeah we certainly have a lot of oak around here. I did give it a sniff, didn't smell quite like the red oak i just bought(ie like pee) but did have a little stink to it.

The comment about it being very light in weight removes any oak from the equation. Especially considering it's still wet.

Gut reaction is sugar maple, but it is hard to tell from the pictures. You don't happen to have any stems do you? I can tell from the twig ends.

Tree of Heaven..,.useless for anything

Edit.. strong unpleasant odor, slimy sap, quite heavy when green....very light when seasoned.

Last edited:
Guessing TOH too, but if you only looked at pic 1 you might be guessing oak (which is what I did, lol). I have never see that much color in the wood it always kinda off white.