Getting ready for school...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackbeard76

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi,
I just love this site and decided it was time to become a member. I live in central Mass. and this fall I will be attending the Stockbridge school to become an Arborist. Now before you dismiss me as some snot nose kid just know that I'll be 30 in September. I currently work as a butcher and i'm not all that happy doing that. Last year i had a pine tree get struck by lightning and that gave me an excuse being to buy a saw. I bought a stihl 290 and went to wok on that pine. I realized that I was happy with a saw in my hands and covered in wood chips. That got me thinking could I make a career out of this? I found the Stockbridge school and applied.
OK enough on the back story. Here come the questions.
1) Have any of you guys graduated from Stockbridge?
2) Being a bigger fellow 5'11 and 265 will I ever be a decent climber or should I stick to a bucket and ground work?
3) Looking to get a bigger saw at some point and some suggestions would be helpful. I am partial to stihl.
Thanks in advance.

Great link Fireaxman...

Here's Bob up a Lophostemon suaveolens Giant in Northern NSW ("King Suavy" as it is fondly nick named) yesterday all 285++ pounds of him... (Bob's in his 60's!!)

Last edited:
Blackbeard76 said:
I currently work as a butcher and i'm not all that happy doing that.

Congratulations for recognising the difference, many continue their trade on trees. :laugh:

Welcome to the site that offers not only a stack of information but also entertainment.

Feel free to use the Search button toward the top of the page in the green band to try and locate information. There's tons of it.

Once you go to college keep us informed and even quizz us, it's good to stay fresh.