Help--trying to get a Husky L65 to run

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

olyeller

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I'm starting a new post since I now have a new-to-me, old Husqvarna L65 identified, cleaned up and starting to run. Thanks for the help you guys gave me on the earlier thread. Here are the pertinent details from my other post:

I got the L65 running! It will start cold, then run for one or two minutes, won't idle so I keep feeding it throttle, then it cuts out. I pulled the plug and it has spark, but won't start warm. Compression feels good. I just tried starting it again after 30-60 minutes and it fired up cold, runs for one or two minutes, then stops, same as before.

What do you think this might be? Does this model have an impulse line that might be leaking air? Fuel line looks good and soft, no gas leaking out. This is my first try at trouble-shooting, and now I'm stumped! This could be a good runner if I just solve this issue.

Later:
Worked on it some more and I think it's the impulse line. On the left side under the air filter cover there's a little aluminum spigot coming up out of the fuel tank that looks like it should take a line of some sort; is that just the breather for the fuel tank? Also, there’s an open hole in the Tillotson carb right next to the adjustment screws. Is this where the impulse line should go? Does the impulse line draw pressure off the cylinder somewhere?

As I said,I am new to troubleshooting saws, and I did a search on impulse lines already. Any help is appreciated. And sorry, my camera is not at home, so no pics right now; I'll get some up tomorrow.

olyeller

Where's fish?

I'm starting a new post since I now have a new-to-me, old Husqvarna L65 identified, cleaned up and starting to run. Thanks for the help you guys gave me on the earlier thread. Here are the pertinent details from my other post: