How concerned should I be about RPM at idle (as mfr specified?)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtGenerator

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys. I recently finished replacing the carb and other parts on my Husky 55 Rancher. I set the L and H screws at 1 turn out on the new (China) carb and fired it up. It seemed to be OK. I adjusted the idle as I've seen recommended here by turning the "T" screw clockwise till the chain started to move then backed it off till it became still again.
The saw would start and seemed to run and cut well. I'm no expert on tuning by ear but it sounded burbly on idle, accelerated well and seemed to cut just fine.
That's when I decided to check the RPM on the idle with my newfangled tach. Husqvarna manual recommends the idle speed be 2500. My tach was jumping around a lot but seemed to be in the neighborhood of 3400 sometimes more sometimes less.
I turned the "T" screw down and couldn't keep the saw running whenever I got idle down to roughly 2500 rpm. It also wouldn't start for me unless I stuck my boot on the throttle while yanking the cord. I'm not real happy starting that way.
There is a lot of discussion of max rpm at full throttle, but not much info I could find regarding tach use on setting idle.
In short, I can't get the saw to start right or stay running when I lower the idle setting anywhere near the recommended setting.
How concerned should I be that my saw wants to idle at 3400-3500 rpm? Bursts of full throttle tach at about 11,700 or so. (I can't seem to find a published max WOT speed specification on my saw).
Should I ignore the spec? If not, what might I have to do to get it to operate near that recommended idle speed?
Any/all suggestions would be appreciated.

Unless there are other issues with the saw i bet your L screw needs adjustment