Husky 61

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brienkd

Reaction score
Hey all. I'm a new member here and have really enjoyed reading the posts. Some are very informative and some are really funny. Anyway I have a Husky 61 that had reached the end of it's usefulll life and I am thinking about rebuilding it. My question is can I put a 365 or 372 jug and piston on it? From what I have read here the newer saws have a better design and produce more power. I just bought a 359 and like the way that it performs. Also what mods can I make to this so that I can get some real power out of it? I could tell you anything that you wanted to know about a small block chevy but I am new to this 2 stroke thing so bear with me if I ask some stupid questions.

I think it would be a bad idea to try and rig something like that. Whats wrong with the saw? Unless you seized the engine, it may only need another set of rings. If you must have a jug and piston get the regular 61 parts. If you want more power out of it then modify the muffler to be less restrictive, shave the bottom of the barrel for more compression and open up the intake side. Since you already ahve a good saw in the 359 this is a perfect opportunity to screw around with the 61 and practice changing the port timing. You would be surprised how much power you can get out of that old 61

Huskyman
Why would that be a bad idea, just curios.The cranks and bearings,clutch are the same on the 61,266,272.
Later
Dan

Dan, he could go with the 272 and get a little more displacement, but his post said he wants the 372 jug and piston for its quad port intake design. that would not be a direct bolt in as it is a completely different design. And the quad port design is where the real power is.

Huskyman: