Husqvarna 455 Rancher vs. Stihl MS 271 or 291

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew Clarke

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have about 25 acres of bush on our 100 acre property. We just moved here last year, and so far I've been time sharing my brother's Poulan Pro with an 18" bar. It gets the job done, but it's time for my own saw. Most of the wood on our property is softwood. The saw gets used for cutting down dead trees, lopping them up, sawing for firewood, etc. I might get one of those chainsaw mills too at some point as I could see getting some decent use out of one.

I'm not a brand zealot, so I don't really care what it is in the end. I want a chainsaw I can maintain and keep for at least 20 years. I want it to start and run winter or summer. There are two Stihl dealers near me and one Husqvarna dealer. I have very little experience with any of them, but I suppose there's a point for Stihl because if I end up hating one I can go to the other.

On the Husqvarna side, the 455 Rancher seems like a good bet for me. I imagine it's going to be good quality long term, but I just don't have that 100% sure feeling. Is this a good reliable long-term saw or am I having to spend a couple hundred more on an XP saw? The Husqvarna dealer won't throw a thing in, and the Huskys aren't on sale at the moment.