Jonsered 2159 vs Jonsered 2156

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
crozier

crozier

ArboristSite Lurker
I've been using Jonsered chainsaws for about 20 years (520,535). I'm looking to upgrade. Has anyone run the 2159 and the 2156? What are the pros and cons of these saws. I'll use it mostly to cut fire wood and locust fence posts.

I notice a lot of places do not sell the 2156. Why?

crozier

crozier

ArboristSite Lurker
Thanks for the welcome Sawtroll!

I clicked on the tread but nothing came up. Is the link right? I'm not able to try out either of these saws where I live but I think I will get one or the other. The 2156 is about $90. more expensive, I'm not sure it would be worth it.

Blowdown1

Blowdown1

ArboristSite Operative
Crozier, the 2159 is essentially the same as the Husqvarna 359, so search for stuff on that and you will find a lot. I love my 359 for firewood and woodlot cleanup of lots of blowdowns from Isabel still. I think the 2156 might be the twin to the 357, so take a look at that info too. Lots of guys here seem to think the 357 (and likely the 2156 then) is not worth the extra $$, and if you spent that money on having a good saw builder tweak the 359/2159 you would have as good or better saw for less money.

You're lucky that you have at least one Jonsey dealer over in your part of the state.

Last edited:
SawTroll

SawTroll

Information Collector
Blowdown1 said:
Crozier, the 2159 is essentially the same as the Husqvarna 359, so search for stuff on that and you will find a lot. ........ I think the 2156 might be the twin to the 357, so take a look at that info too.