Jonsered 49 sp.....I inherited and I'm clueless

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chefemby

Reaction score
I am new to the chainsaw world, so please go slow with me. I inherited a Jonsered 49 sp from my father in law when he passed away (along with a garage full of other things I know little about). I now need to cut up some trees that we lost in some storms that hit our area (small trees - less than 18" in diameter). I've used a chainsaw before, but never owned one, so here goes......here's the newbie question (don't kick me off the site...). I need to fill it with gas and oil, and I don't know if the gas is mixed or not. I know where the gas goes, but then there's a resorvoir for oil - is this for the chain / bar oil or is it for engine oil? If it's for chain / bar oil, where does engine oil go? This chainsaw is very old and my father in law helped clear land with it to build the house my wife grew up in, so I really need to not ruin it. Can someone please answer my question?

Last edited:
Is there an owners manual? Check it out! If all else fails, go to a saw shop and ask some questions! What the heck maybe buy a chain if you get enough questions answered! Good luck! Lz