Killed My Trusty 029

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ledlung

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all. Yes, I am a Newb here.

But I've owned a Stihl 029 for ten years and never had a problem until last week. Don't know what I did. Might have mistakenly thought that 2.5 gallon gas can was a 1-gallon can (unlikely). Might have #@$%d up the oil measurement.

Anyway, the saw seized (and my heart sank) hours after a truckload of logs (4 cords worth) was delivered.

The dealer pulled the exhaust and confirmed the piston and cylinder are fried. He said that between parts and labor costs it wouldn't be worth fixing. The cylinder/piston and other parts would cost about $200. The labor would add at least another hundred.

He said the big problem was the plastic crankcase on the 029. If it were magnesium, the job would be a lot easier. In fact, he said that a failure to properly seal that plastic case would create a pressure leak that would make me look like this:bang:

So I spent the day shopping/comparing/grimacing at prices. A very nice gent at Baileys said they can sell me a new jug/piston kit for $107. That makes tackling the job seem to be at least worth a try.

My question: Is this plastic case sealing stuff really something to fear? And if I don't fix the saw, should I steer clear of new units that have this design? I know darn well I'll be more careful with the fuel mix no matter what choice I make.

Any thoughts much appreciated!

Hi all. Yes, I am a Newb here.

But I've owned a Stihl 029 for ten years and never had a problem until last week. Don't know what I did. Might have mistakenly thought that 2.5 gallon gas can was a 1-gallon can (unlikely). Might have #@$%d up the oil measurement.

Anyway, the saw seized (and my heart sank) hours after a truckload of logs (4 cords worth) was delivered.