Kohler Motor 25 or 27 HP

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abbeystump

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
:jester:

I have a 1999 model Carlton 2500-4 with 25hp kohler motor.It burns oil and lacks power.650 hours use.Has any one replaced the 25 hp with a 27hp Kohler motor.Was there much differance......

25 or 27

I have the 27 horse and wish I bought the Briggs Vangaurd 35 Horse. I also have a Carlton and love the machine. Just a recommendation.....

The Vanguards are longer lasting

Working on both regulalrly, the vanguards are running longer before rebuilds and parts usually cost less. I have no experience with the 35 but yes in this application more HP would stress the engine less. Price may be an issue though.
The 27s seem pretty reasonable.

How was the maintenence schedule on the Kohler? 650 seems low but if the maintenence was lax a bit in oil and filter change intervals not out of line.
Dust beats heck out of engines and collects in the oil from various very small inlets.
Also overheat will cause premature wear. Regular cleaning of the cooling fins and regular oil changes with filter and oil top up every 6 hrs run time will give good service from either engine choice.

Archie

Kohler

Pest,

The maintenence is easy provided you do it. I am very rigid when it comes to maintenence. I wash and wax my machine every month to protect it and gain longer life. Every Friday, I clean it from top to bottom by the book. I am now at 170 hrs on this machine and everyone asks if it is new. I keep my chain saws the same way. From all the folks I know with the same engine, they have had a great experience as well. One had over 900 hrs with no trouble. But...more power....