labor rates

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spencerhenry

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i am not a logger by trade, but i do some easement clearing, and wildfire fuel reduction. always by myself at a bid rate. recently another logger guy asked me if i was interested in coming to do some cutting and or skidding for him.
what is the going rate for a feller, in a large cut, and in a selective cut? by the hour and by the mbf? what is the going rate for a cable skidder and operator? hourly?, and by the mbf? i am in the central rockies. in the selective cuts, i would be felling, and skidding, and then limbing (all slash has to be removed and chipped). any thoughts?

I cut for a summer out of Montrose Co. in the early 80s, i was making 13.00 mbf don't know how that will help but i'd be kinda curious what the price is myself these days.

I cut a 100 acre fire mitigation area in Genesee right off the 70 about 20 miles west of denver. I was making 15hr this was in 2001

I have no idea what production rates are in Denver. In Ohio I've seen contract fallers make between $.15-.25/bf when they provide their own truck, saw, lunch, ect. People working by the day and with the boss's tools usually get $150+/day. If you're skidding with the boss's skidder I would think about $15/hr.

thanks for the info. when you guys say $13/mbf, or $.15 to $.25 per bdft, i assume that is just to fell limb and buck? i have my own skidder, it is an older machine but still works well. the rate i was offered by this guy was $40 to $45/ hr for me and the machine. i was to supply my own diesel, and my own truck and saw. or he offered $50/mbf for felled skidded, limbed and bucked timber. most trees i would be cutting would average 16" dbh or less.
any more ideas?