leg loops vs. butt strap

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

371groundie

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I will be purchasing a new saddle soon and i have been eying alot of different makes and models. I'm fairly new to climbing and all my climbing has been in an old simple saddle someone snagged from the big orange years and years ago. it 4 d rings, no leg straps or loops. its really bare bones. (just putting this out here so you know what I'm used to)

I'm looking at a weaver wide back saddle that comes with the option of a butt strap or leg loops. I've never had the chance to use a saddle with leg loops. I'm inclined to go for the butt strap since that would be closest to my previous experience, but i noticed most of the new saddle models come with leg loops or a variation thereof. just looking for opinions, pros/cons, etc

thanks in advance.

If you do a search here you'll find a plethora of varying opinions as to which is better. I've used both and find the butt strap to be slightly more comfortable when suspended for some time but a little less maneuverable. For the most comfort go with a rigid batten seat. Kind of like have a piece of wood strapped to your butt so, depending on your style of climbing, you might find it to be somewhat cumbersome. Now I'm using a Weaver Cougar with leg straps (prefer the maneuverability) and that I like it a little more than the butt strap (the butt strap tends to squeeze your legs together). It took some time to get used to and to fine tune the adjustments.

Last edited:
nothing better than the batten seat on a saddle. imo. i own 4 saddles, all batten seats. i did try on a saddle with the leg loops and did not like how they can run up your thigh and crush your nuts......which they tend to do.

again. imo. the butt loop is a waste of time.