Loading a pickup

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pete Bunyan

Reaction score
Hey all. I'm new at cutting my own firewood, but I want to put my new MS 361 to use already, so it's off to the woods this weekend. Probably 40 miles round trip. I hope to find good in-town wood sources, but for now it's state and federal forest permits.

I'm envious of all the equipment and easy access you guys have, but all I have is a pickup, a 2002 Tundra. Is my best bet for maximizing the load with a stake-bed kind of setup to just stick some boards in the stake pockets and then screw some rails or plywood to them?

Any advice on how high I can load this before I need to invest in upgrades to the suspension?

Thanks for any help.

Hey all. I'm new at cutting my own firewood, but I want to put my new MS 361 to use already, so it's off to the woods this weekend. Probably 40 miles round trip. I hope to find good in-town wood sources, but for now it's state and federal forest permits.

I'm envious of all the equipment and easy access you guys have, but all I have is a pickup, a 2002 Tundra. Is my best bet for maximizing the load with a stake-bed kind of setup to just stick some boards in the stake pockets and then screw some rails or plywood to them?

Any advice on how high I can load this before I need to invest in upgrades to the suspension?

Thanks for any help.

I cut my wood in smaller lengths, 10''-12'', it is easier to handle, and the wife says it is easier to load the stove.:)

Now, load the truck up until is squats, and go. You will know it is too much when it bottoms out when driving. In so far as an upgrade, you will be saying that as long as you cut wood, no matter what you drive.