Log splitter purchase?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

City Slicker

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Looking to buy a "Timberwolf" with a honda 5.5 engine and 20 ton ram. Anyone have one or what do you guys like in log splitters out on the market?

Hey partner, I'm no expert, infact I just bought my first used splitter and got it running, but I can offer you a little insight, and there are tons of other threads here with valuable info. This is gonna be a condensed version of a bunch of threads I've read.
#1. I have used several splitters, and they all worked well. I preferre to have the control valve handle, on the opposite side(across) from the engine.
#2. I thought I wanted one that was low to the ground to help ease the lifting process, but I hear that is worse on the back, as is working vertically.
#3 No matter what brand you buy, it is gonna work pretty well, so look for the creature comforts I mentioned, and trol the treads for more info, know what you
want, and then get it.
#4 Get it in Delaware, and save on taxxes! If you can't do that, then make sure to get a 10% coupon no matter where you go. Pretty much all the big stores have them, and some places give discounts if you sign up for their credit card.
#5 If you want a used one, prepare to look for a while. I found one via a radio swap meet,with a blown engine and fixxed it. I see them on Ebay, but most are far away, and over priced.
Good luck partnr.

jerseydevil - thanks for the good info! I don't understand your thinking on #1. Can you please explain?

Sure, The first part means, that with all three splitters I've used, they all worked well and never had a piece of wood that couldn't be split. I wasn't working on anything to big though. So, in short, pretty much all of the 20+ ton splitters will do the job. As long as it is a name brand.