MS 250 vs MS 271. Which one do I buy?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Superhunter12

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello All.

I am new to chainsaws and I am looking into buying my first one. I do like both the MS 250 and the MS 271. I would be using it for cutting brush and small trees. Looking for something that is dependable and will last. I have used a MS 250 before, but never used a MS 271. I liked using the 250 and did not know if the 271 had much more power that I needed for what I would be doing. Cutting brush and dropping small trees is the primary reason I would like to get one. Just not sure which one to buy. Can I get feedback on this please?

The MS 271 has more power and is more of a semi pro saw where as the ms 250 is home owner grade. I used both the ms 250 and a 270 extensively always were reliable. But the 271 and the 270 are different designs from what I understand. Either would fill your need's but dont make the mistake of getting something to small to start with. I'd say try the 271 out see how it feels. Good luck and welcome to AS

I bet the 250 will meet your needs (sound like pretty low goals). If you are not heating with wood, and just need something to trim or cut up the occassional blow-down, the 250 will serve you well. They are usually priced at ~$300. Be sure to buy some protective chaps (much cheaper than a trip to the ER) and wear hearing protection.

MS 261 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.) 2.8 kW (3.75 bhp) 5.26 kg (11.6 lbs.) 40 to 50cm (16" to 20")

MS 250 45.4 cc (2.77 cu. in.) 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp) 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")

MS 271 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.) 2.6 kW (3.49 bhp) 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")

Last edited: