My first climb job.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swyman

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Well, came to the conclusion that I have to learn to climb to do this business right. Bid a job today and got that I will have to climb to remove a limb that I don't have access to from the truck. Is first limb about 25' and is the only limb that needs to be removed from that tree, not real huge but HO is worried about ice storms and protecting the house. Going to buy my equipment Monday from Treeman supply which is located close to me. Just happened to have received my 5 dvd basic trailning for tree climbers by TCIA. I am not an expert which is why I posted this here but the vids should get me safely in the tree and perform the task. I scheduled it later next week so I can practice in a nice Maple in the yard but am excited about learning this skill. I will take it very slow and safe and will bring a level of safety to my operation. Any pointers will be welcome, I know this is very dangerous territory for a newb climber but feel up to the challenge. Are TCIA's vids good? Just watched the rigging for removal set and learned some great tricks that will speed up production and safety.

While you seem a decent enough guy I take big issue with you charging people for a professional service when you don't know how to do it. I can hang sheetrock, and do it pretty well, but I wouldn't ever try to charge someone professional rates for my work. It's very unethical.

Good luck. Double and triple check all your knots. Take small pieces and make sure there is another person with you. You might want to practice before you hit the job site. If the client looks out and sees you fumbling around looking confused, it might not make the best impression. Also, make sure you have a cell phone if you nee to call 911. Thats not a joke.