Needed to talk - struck by fatality

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
N

need to talk

Writing this as a warning and a message to anyone in the biz that maybe thinks it can’t happen to them. I have been doing tree-work for over 25 years. Starting with my father at around 12 years old dragging brush, learning about chainsaws, learning to climb, all the ins & outs of the biz. Have seen a few injuries over the years, mostly cuts, scrapes and bruises, taken a few falls myself, skinned up arms and legs, had a friend of mine cut his neck on a kicked back saw off a chain link fence and nearly die. A few others have cut themselves in the legs with a chainsaw in a tree or accidentally gaffed themselves. All of these injuries were accidents and probably avoidable and caused by rushing to get the job done, lack of attention, etc. I always knew that this business was dangerous and have always looked at every job from many different angles always looking for the possibilities of getting either myself or a bystander hurt, or property being damaged and looked for ways to avoid it. If a job was just not cost effective or I just did not feel comfortable doing it I have walked away on more than one occasion. I got out of the business for a while seeking a career change but it draws you back in like some that have left can also feel. I have been slowly building my business up the past few years, getting the proper license and getting the required liability insurance for my area. Workers comp is not required in my area for operations of less than 3 people full time. This is a part –time business for me that I was slowly trying to grow into a full time. After years of being a pick-up truck hack (no offense intended) I wanted to do it the right way. I attended ISA classes, became certified and am able to talk to customers about the whys and what ifs about trees instead of just