New Chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D Bockman

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Have been looking for a low hour used chipper on the west coast and have about decided to buy a new one. Probably a Morbark or Bandit (in the 9 or 12 inch size) since they have dealers out here. Both seem OK but still haven't decided which one .... or ... to get a drum or disk. Since I am a walnut tree farmer, most of my work with the chipper will be on site and could get buy with a PTO model.
Any advice will be appreciated.

no advise, just input.
i have a bandit 250xp, and i love it. i have owned it since 1999 and i will have it for as long as it runs. even then, maybe i'll use it in front of the office as advertising.
i also used the morbark model 13, another nice machine, but i prefer my bandit instead. i couldn't getr used to the banging around of the drum.
just my opinion.
my only advise is to get in touch with a dealer and demo, demo and demo a little more. big money to spend, just make sure you are 100% with your choice.

Thanks

I have already had one demo but am waiting for one from Morbark. Clearly Morbark dealer likes their drum and Bandit is pushing their 90 disk. Nobody has a pto to demo. ..dave

i would go with the bandit!

morjunk has very poor product support hear in ca. and the "rep" is computation for us tree guys (run his own show on the side :angry2: )

Vermeer 1250