New old guy here, need info

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clintb

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Being a Georgia redneck and no job ,I been thinking about milling some wood. I started reading the chainsaw section last winter, I started with a poulan then and after a few months reading I'm up to 9 saws now. So I guess I need to switch to the milling section. What about a 12 or 15 hp 4 cycle, vertical shaft with a harvester sprocket and bar mounted horizontally on a carriage? Would the chain speed be to slow? How fast would it cut in a poplar or southern pine about 12 to 20 inches? How about another crazy idea, 2, 4hp electric chainsaws mounted on a 2 ended bar, with a alaskian bar setup? I've been a welder since 1968, so building this wouldn't't be a problem, but the biggest saw I have are 036 and ms 360. Help me out I'm new at this wood thing.

When I was originally thinking about getting into milling I had thought about a chainsaw mill, but after reading I leaned toward a band mill, faster cut than the chainsaw mill, less wastage (smaller kerf).

Once I made my decision I went ahead and built a small band mill powered by a 6.5 hp Honda clone engine, it can cut up to a 20 inch log. The mill cost about $1200 Candian to build could have built it cheaper but was desinging the thing out of my head so I had a few mistakes and design changes.

Hope I was of some help !

What do you want to achieve with your mill? Is it something you want to kill time with or make a living with? Your current saws are really not up to the task of a CSM (some will argue with that). A small bandmill is hard to beat for small logs but, like everything else, it has it's limitations. CSM's built like you describe are typically dedicated slabbing mills and are only practical for that purpose.