New to the forum, need a new Stihl under $500

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is great feedback. I have never used chaps but will definitely be getting a pair when I get my saw, my buddy won't let me buy a saw from him without a pair. I only do 2-3 cord /yr, but my brother in law (MS290) and I do 8ish cords total together on his land. We went in on a splitter a few years back. I am also looking to buy a wood lot soon and cut my own wood, and possibly looking into a do it yourself milling kit?? Making slab furniture? 6x6 posts for a pole barn?

I also noticed that the pro saws hold their values a little better than the mid-range. I'm an engineer so I will have the RPM kit soon and be tweaking this thing off an on. Hell, knowing me, I will have a digital tach mounted to the back of the case with an hour meter for service intervals.

Thanks for all the feedback, but at the open house on Saturday, if I can get a 361 with a bar and chain (probably just 16" for now?), chaps, tax, and a fancy new stihl ball cap for under $600ish, I'll be bringing it home!!! I will start a new post with pics.... Will put the color GPS on hold, B&W will have to continue to work.

Thanks!
Ed

Ed in Maine said:
This is great feedback. I have never used chaps but will definitely be getting a pair when I get my saw, my buddy won't let me buy a saw from him without a pair. I only do 2-3 cord /yr, but my brother in law (MS290) and I do 8ish cords total together on his land. We went in on a splitter a few years back. I am also looking to buy a wood lot soon and cut my own wood, and possibly looking into a do it yourself milling kit?? Making slab furniture? 6x6 posts for a pole barn?