Newbie here. What else? - I need saw purchase advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sruffner

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been lurking here for a couple of months, searching and reading threads on various saws. I'd like to get a little input on a couple of saws.

First, a little background on me: I'm a 'homeowner' user; I grew up using my grandfather's and father's Homelites (don't recall the models), and I had a Mac 10-10 I used for about 15 years. I've recently moved from in-town to "the country" (Central VA mountains) and I need to get new saws to replace the Mac. I found the Mac in the crawlspace under a house I'd bought, with spun bearings, and rebuilt it. That was probably a mistake (not worth what I spent in parts), but it was a strong enough saw to cut nearly everything I needed to cut. I used it mainly for firewood work, and with the fresh chain and bar it worked pretty well. The biggest stuff I cut up with it (16" bar) was some 22" dia. white oak, and it did OK. I got a kick out of the recent Mac 10-10 thread, and yes, it was finding parts - specifically one of those molded rubber gas lines- that made me decide it wasn't worth fooling with anymore. Hard to start, heavy and vibrated like holy heck. I'm sure a 'modern' saw is light years nicer by most measures.

Most of what I need to cut is going to be <18", a mixture of hard and soft woods; every now and then I'm sure something larger will fall where I can't leave it (eg, across the driveway!) until I can get a pro out there, so I'd like to be able to put at least a 20" bar in this saw. I'll have a significant amount of limbing do, so I think I'll really need to get two saws.