Newbie working on 028

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

downhanddave

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Alright to start off as u probably know I am new to the sight under this name was a member few years back mainly to look at pictures but posted acouple times. I am a pipeline welder from oklahoma. As most if u know there arent alot of trees here lol but i love running chainsaws and have ran them ALOT cut atleast 100 cords of firewood a year. For the last 10 years. No big saws no real big trees just lots and lots of cutting. My saw line up will get laughed at but i will tell u. All I have is 3 yes 3 ms 290's all have muffler mods done. But that's all I know how to do. And they work or me I am 26 so weight is no concern and a 18" bar gets thru almost all the trees I cut at this time. Anyway to get to what I am posting about. Thru many hours of reading on here I have decided to start upgrading my saws. I bought a old well atleast I believe old version 028 (has magnesium tank and handle). I didn't get to start the saw but the price was right ($25) so I figured it would b a good saw for two things. 1: it's not a clamshell so easy to work on. 2: I am saw repair stupid!! I am good at anything mechanical just 2 strokes are alot different than the diesel motors I am use to working on. So this is my project.
a5a2uheb.jpg

I have filter cover also just had it off when I remembered to take a pic.