Ppe?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dandolmar

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi I have seen ppe mentioned in a couple of threads what is it? Im kind of new to the world of chainsaws so Im wondering how many people wear chaps and how much do they cost? I think Ill try and get the hard hat and hearing protectors first. Thanks in advance Dan

I have a pair of chaps they cost around $50.00 they are Husqvarna brand got them from Northern tool. I don't wear them that often I know I should but I don't they are well made and comfortable but I just don't remember I guess I will kick my self once I hurt myself. I would get a pair if I were you and wanted to be safe.

PPE is just an acronym for Personal Protective Equipment. That includes anything from helmet, eye, and hearing protection to gloves, boots, chaps, etc.

Your right, definitely get the help and hearing protection first, then decide about the need for other types of gear. Chaps will generally sell for $50-70 and you can also get boots that have kevlar lining to help protect you feet and ankles.

Just keep in mind that PPE is not a suit of armor, it will not prevent accidents and it will not keep you from hurting yourself if you don't know how to use a chainsaw properly. PPE is simply like a seat-belt -- it can prevent catastrophic injury in the event of an accident.

By the way, they also sell chainsaw pants that you might find are more comfortable than chaps, especially in summer. They eliminate the need for an extra layer of clothing.

Good luck,

fwf is right about it not being a suit of armor, and I think that common sense and knowledge is your best protection.

That said, I don't even run a saw while tuning it without wearing the necessary ppe. All it takes is one lapse of awareness or something unpredictable about what you're cutting, and it's done. That's where ppe comes in.

Jeff