Question about clutch life

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldtoolsnewproblems

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So I am fairly new to chainsaw so bear with me here. I have 3 old husky that I plan on trying to maintain for a while. The single operational one right now had a crack in a clutch friction shoe but it worked. When I got the second saw I swapped clutches as that one was not cracked. I had expected it to look more like a brake shoes, ie some friction material attached to a metal backer. Has all the friction material worn off of mine, or is it just a special sintered metal with enough friction to get the job done? I'd never used a chainsaw before I got these a few years ago, and have only cut like 5 cord with them so I have no expectation of how a saw should work. Heck I thought the 266 had plenty of power even tho compression turned out to be 90psi! New ring fixed that and it's much better.
Second question, is how long do clutches last? Hard to measure I know, but can I buck 30 chords before I need a new clutch, or is it several hundred and most saws never have it replaced unless it gets damaged? Trying to decide if I should buy a spare one for the shelf, but that's a slippery slope of new parts "just in case" and I don't like doing that. I'd rather spend the money on a bigger bar and new drive cog

The kind of clutch that you have with the straight steel shoes will last forever as long as it isn't abused. Most clutches have problems because of overheating due to owners who try to run the saw with the brake on or when cutting, they lug the engine down to the point where is starts to slip. First thing to go with overheating is the clutch springs will get softened and the clutch will engage at a lower speed. The bearing that the clutch drum spins on has to be greased now and then.