question on single rope climbing...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeanBrown3D

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Once you launch a line and weight into the tree, and then pull up a rope, how do you tie it up top? Do you pull it all the way down and use a loop and pull it back again? If yes, how do yo get it down afterwards! I'm mystified! (and as you can tell I have never climbed with rope before!)

Ok I see. Do you have to hang any weight on the rope so the ascenders don't just lift up the rope?

Also, would you recommend SRT to a complete beginner for their first climb? Maybe I am not reading this right, but I seem to remember that its a more difficult and advanced technique compared to the DRT. Do beginners do both from day one or what?

Thanks for any tips!:cheers:

Dean

Well, I am so terrified of hitting a hornets nest, I will be learning that change-over at 5 feet off the ground before I ever even reach 10 feet!

(It comes from a bad experience with 4" long blue hornets in Indonesia once, no bs either)

Which book are you reading?

I've rappelled from cliffs, climbed rocks with ropes and painted water towers using a seatboard and block and tackle with 1/2", 5/8" and 3/4" ropes.

Now I want to learn the SRT and DRT I've heard of and seen employed once on a Martha Stewart episode.

Maybe I watch too much TV?

DeanBrown3D said:
Once you launch a line and weight into the tree, and then pull up a rope, how do you tie it up top? Do you pull it all the way down and use a loop and pull it back again? If yes, how do yo get it down afterwards! I'm mystified! (and as you can tell I have never climbed with rope before!)

How do you post severel hundred times here and never climb up a rope.