Safety vs bar length?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeraldjunkmail

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to chainsaws (still haven't bought my own yet), and am still researching. Is it safer or less safe, physics wise, to have a longer, or shorter bar as it relates to kickback. I am thinking of getting an Echo cs-500p, which has 3.6hp.... So is there any difference safety-wise between running a short, 14" bar vs running a longer 20" bar on this saw?

Thanks!

You should get the longest bar available for your saw. Shorter bars equal more torque and chain speed in wood and it's easier for you to bump the tip into something that will kick it back. A longer bar won't get away from you as quick, and its extra weight will help keep the saw pointed in the right direction but will also introduce your lower legs and feet to the danger zone.

Hi, I am new to chainsaws (still haven't bought my own yet), and am still researching. Is it safer or less safe, physics wise, to have a longer, or shorter bar as it relates to kickback. I am thinking of getting an Echo cs-500p, which has 3.6hp.... So is there any difference safety-wise between running a short, 14" bar vs running a longer 20" bar on this saw?

Thanks!
I am a firm believer in not using a saw bigger then necessary.
The only time I use a longer bar is on larger wood. Some people use a longer bar for limbing so they don't have to bend over.
I would run a 16 or 18" on a echo 500.

I am a firm believer in not using a saw bigger then necessary.
The only time I use a longer bar is on larger wood. Some people use a longer bar for limbing so they don't have to bend over.
I would run a 16 or 18" on a echo 500.