Seeking Advice on Chainsaw Add-ons

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 119710

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a professional homebuilder and use chainsaws a lot for felling trees and basic timber framing. But I have very little experience with chainsaw brands, and zero experience with Alaskan sawmills or any other chainsaw add-ons. I'd like to try something new this coming spring, and I was hoping some more experienced chainsawers could give me some advice on putting something together:

1. First of all, I'd like to buy myself a chainsaw that's strong and durable but not over-the-top, strong enough to hook up to an Alaskan sawmill (just to plane one side of a log really, nothing super difficult) but still light enough to do precision freehand cuts like cutting half-laps into timbers.

2. I don't know if these are even made, but I'd like to have a detachable handle that could be attached to the end of the bar, to transform the chainsaw into a mini 2-man chainsaw. Anyone know if this exists? A lot of times I find myself doing complicated cuts and I have to keep pausing and taking a look at the other side of the timber to make sure I'm on track...

3. And finally, could anyone give me some advice on choosing an Alaskan sawmill type add-on for the chainsaw? Like I said I would only be interested in planing one side of a log, and I wouldn't need a flat surface more than 6 to 9" wide, so something small but still solid/durable would be perfect.

Thanks very much for reading, and for any advice you can give,
- Hat City