Splitter build

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewie3500

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello All,

This is my first attempt at my first post after reading for longer than I remember. I finally decided to jump head first in a log splitter build. This site has been an invaluable resource for design ideas. I will post pics as I go and hope for feedback and info to change the design as I build. Maybe the pics will help other as their pics helped me.

Thanks

Attachments

• 20140619_131716.jpg
    20140619_131716.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 120
I decided that boxing the ends would be a good way to prevent twist. The beam is 1/2'' with a 3/8'' web. So I am going to use 1/2'' plate to reinforce the beam.

Attachments

• 20140620_082433.jpg
    20140620_082433.jpg
    120.7 KB · Views: 134
You didnt say what size cylinder you plan on using. What you have done boxing the ibeam will help, but I would have probably made my wedge first and extended it down to the bottom of the hbeam before boxing the beam. Simply welding the wedge on top of the hbeam might not hold under pressure and rip off at the welds. I would also consider capping the top plate of the beam with more flat plate where you slide will be travleing. This will help prevent the edges of the beam from rolling up under extreme pressure.

You didnt say what size cylinder you plan on using. What you have done boxing the ibeam will help, but I would have probably made my wedge first and extended it down to the bottom of the hbeam before boxing the beam. Simply welding the wedge on top of the hbeam might not hold under pressure and rip off at the welds. I would also consider capping the top plate of the beam with more flat plate where you slide will be travleing. This will help prevent the edges of the beam from rolling up under extreme pressure.

Thanks,