Stihl 020 AVP Repair, help?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chainsaw Collectors

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I recently acquired a Stihl 020 AVP from a member here. It doesn’t have spark so I want to try to bake the ignition coil. So I have to remove the recoil cover assembly to access the ignition coil. I got the 2 screws which were ridiculously tight and the 2 nuts off. But the assembly is still tight to the rest of the saw… I hear these saws are a nightmare to work on and such. Also the handle broke in a weird way. I have no experience with this type of handle so that confused me. Any tips would be greatly appreciate.

Attachments

• IMG_5705.jpeg
    IMG_5705.jpeg
    705.1 KB · Views: 0
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
Found another better YouTube video. I only have 1 screw left and it WON’T come out… Super tight. Sprayed with PBlaster a couple times in the last 24 hours. Should I buy an expensive can of that Kroil stuff just for situations like these where it may actually be necessary? Any tips?

Attachments

• IMG_5716.jpeg
    IMG_5716.jpeg
    702.1 KB · Views: 2
After a week of soaking with PBlaster the screw finally came out. Now I have these ones for the handle. The one is currently soaking with PBlaster. The 2 smaller ones I circled in red I don’t know if they need to come out.

Attachments

• IMG_5786.jpeg
    IMG_5786.jpeg
    828.3 KB · Views: 2

Good piece of gear. One of those tools that you don't realize that you need, and then when you have one, you wonder how you lived without it. I have one this size and one a bit smaller.

To the OP - ditch the PB Blaster. I prefer Kroil, but it is expensive and you have to order it. When I run out of Kroil, I used 50/50 mix of acetone and ATF. Supposed to be just as good or better than Kroil, depending on what test you're looking at.