Stihl 056 AV super any good for use with an Alkaskan Sawmill?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

demographic

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I have a mate who has a 056 AV super and wants to buy an Alaskan Sawmill to go with it.
If its any good whats the biggest kind of size mill that it will run and what length bar should be buy for it? Currently its got a 25 inch bar (as far as I can work out but then again I'm new to all this stuff) fitted.

He intends to mill sycamore and ash but may want to do other woods if that makes much difference.
He could pay someone to haul the timber out of where it is, and mill it which might well give better results but that involves paying someone else to do something that he thinks he could have a go at instead.
Also, tell me about ripping chains, whats good and whats not.
Regards Scott.

G'day.That saw goes around 80 odd cc so it should be fine for milling.36" bar for softwoods and maybe 30" for hardwoods.A ripping chain will cut quicker but leave a rougher finish.It's up to your mate.

G'day.That saw goes around 80 odd cc so it should be fine for milling.36" bar for softwoods and maybe 30" for hardwoods.A ripping chain will cut quicker but leave a rougher finish.It's up to your mate.

90cc I believe, should handle a 36" bar even in most north american hardwoods. According to some of the members in the chainsaw forum it runs close to the performance of an 066 but is heavier.

My understanding is that a ripping chain simply has a cutter filed to 5-10 degrees instead of 30.

There are other ones with different profiles too and different cutter arrangements like the granberg one.

H