Stihl MS 261 Vs. MS 362

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JRJC

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there, this is my first post.

I'm currently trying to decide between the Stihl MS 261 and MS 362. I'm interested in finding out about people's experiences of comparative performance and reliability. I've been advised by a couple of pros to go for the 362 as I won't have any trouble handling the larger saw, but I want to make sure I've done my homework before dropping the money. I have read a lot of independent reviews, but wanted to know if anyone here has experienced both saws? I plan to use an 18 inch bar for now.

About me - I'm not a pro, just a hobbyist. I've got about 5 cords to get through right now, mostly cypress, but will have some hawthorn and other hardwoods to get through soon. Maximum log dia. of approx 24 inches, bust mostly around the 12 inch range. Based on my research I think I could probably get away with the 261, but if the 362 is the better saw in people's experience then i'm willing to pay a bit more. Just looking to make sure I get the best bang for my buck.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks for your response 2123. Is that just for the bit of extra power, or other considerations?

I have owned both but still have a 261. They are built almost the same, with great filtration and av. The 362 just has more HP and weight. Is this going to be your only saw? If so, I would buy the 362 but it sounds like a 261 would still take care of your needs.

Good little selection of lures there! Yeah it will be my only saw, definitely don't need more than one. I quite like the quick chain tensioning option on the 261. I want to run an 18 inch bar, but the Stihl catalogue indicates that the 261 is optimised for a 16 inch bar. Do you mind me asking why you stuck with the 261?