Stihl ms 880 help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lumberjach

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey guys I am looking for some tips. I bought a ms 880 last year right after Charlie hit. It locked up on me two weeks after owning it. I followed all the directions on breaking in the engine. I use stihl's one shot with a gallon. I have been mixing gas for 7 years. Never a problem. In fact I continued to run the same mix in my other stihls. Stihl rebuilt it and it happened again 3 months ago. I was even more particular about my mixture after the first incident. Stihl fixed it again and I just got it back today. I shouldn't have to walk on eggshells with an 880. Advise please. Thanks

lumberjach said:
Hey guys I am looking for some tips. I bought a ms 880 last year right after Charlie hit. It locked up on me two weeks after owning it. I followed all the directions on breaking in the engine. I use stihl's one shot with a gallon. I have been mixing gas for 7 years. Never a problem. In fact I continued to run the same mix in my other stihls. Stihl rebuilt it and it happened again 3 months ago. I was even more particular about my mixture after the first incident. Stihl fixed it again and I just got it back today. I shouldn't have to walk on eggshells with an 880. Advise please. Thanks

They are set up lean from the factory to pass emissions same as the 660. Remove the limiter cap from the high-speed needle (furthest away from cylinder), and richen it up until it runs at 11400 rpm full-throttle with no load, bar and chain on. Cheers.

Here's what I would do. Run a mix no thinner than 40:1, and preferably 32:1 Also, open up the muffler by putting at least a 3/4"- 7/8" pipe on the exhaust port of the muffler. The pipe can even be on the inside so you can keep the spark arrester arrangement.