Stihl MS250 clutch / oiler smoke, thoughts?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skittles93

Reaction score
Howdy,

Ive been ghosting this site for a few years but I cant seem to find a post regarding the problem im having, anyhow... I was running my 250 today to fell a 14 DBH Pin Oak and it started pouring smoke from the chain sprocket cover area. Oiler is working fine and it was ok on smaller bay laurels a few hours later. Any thoughts on whats smoking and how to fix would be much appreciated. Saw is about 8 months old with no more than 40 hours on it, sharpened a week ago.

Thanks!!

Look closely at the space between the muffler and the chain bar, if the plug is missing out of a small oil port located there then oil will leak out onto the hot muffler and man o mam will it smoke.

I was thinking that it could be bar oil but I was holding the saw so that the muffler was above the oiler, i.e. the gas and oil fills were facing the sky and the sprocket cover the ground. I will take a look to see if that plug is still there though.

You seem to be one of those guys that bogs the chain into a big piece of wood and keeps trying to goose the throttle over and over to get the chain to turn. This slips the clutch and smokes things. Keep it up and you will ruin something.

@rupedoggy Unlikely to be user error, but thanks for checking. I guess Ill try taking it apart, im not a small engine mechanic so I was hoping someone would have a quick fix, oh well.

I was thinking that it could be bar oil but I was holding the saw so that the muffler was above the oiler, i.e. the gas and oil fills were facing the sky and the sprocket cover the ground. I will take a look to see if that plug is still there though.