Sugar Maple Defects, What to do??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NorthwoodsJack

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
We have a maple in our front yard that I'm worried about. It looks like it was never pruned when young and has 3 leaders and and a couple semi-upright branches. It has been cabled between the outside 2 leaders. I'm worried that if I prune the semi upright branches it will wall off the center section of wood and split the tree. Any advice??

thanks
jack

Ahh...I see the problem...it requires a drastic reduction...on all of them...The Images!

Irfanview

NorthwoodsJack said:
sorry about the size. I'm new at this.
jack
You can resize your images by using this free and easy to use program.
http://www.irfanview.com/
Once downloaded and installed, simply select file, then open your file, select image then resize, select the 640 x 480 pixels or any other size desired (hopefully smaller), click okay, then go to file and select save. I generally choose the 640 x 480 pixels option. If you want to keep your outrageously large image, be sure to copy it or rename your resized pic so that it doesn't overwrite your obscenely huge photo. ;)

My thought is the semi-uprights crowd out the other, more natural and symmetrical branches. Also, I am worried that they are not structurally sound and if they split from the trunk I will lose the whole tree because of the way the branches interact with the trunk.

My worry on cutting it is similar to it's breaking off: If this section is cut, the trunk will reject nutrients to a large center section of the trunk as part of its natural defense. That is what I mean by "wall off"