This cylinder toast?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yotaismygame

Juiced Saws #GetJuiced
Reaction score
This will be a saw I’m selling. Had a lot of transfer on it. Ended up sanding through the platting on the bottom of the port. I’m thinking it’s done for. What do you think?
3940A3CE-DBBA-4B74-A745-B43EB98B3C94.jpeg

Those look deep. And they are to far down to say porting will remove them.

But im no expert. So don’t listen to me.

Sent while firmly grasping my redline lubed RAM [emoji231]

Those look deep. And they are to far down to say porting will remove them.

But im no expert. So don’t listen to me.

Sent while firmly grasping my redline lubed RAM [emoji231]

Talking about the worn off platting. Few scratches you can feel but will be fine.

What were you using to remove the transfer?

I'm still a fan of using acid if there is no scores through the plating then hand sanding with wet/dry after that. Using powered stuff can remove more than you need.

If you use acid, hand sand first with wet/dry and detergent. You have to remove all oils for acid to do it's thing on aluminum transfer

I started with sanding but got nervous about the platting so I switched to acid. But then got a little impatient and did more sanding. I still have just a little more transfer to remove about the port otherwise it’s good to go.

Also I will be porting and machining this cylinder. Does that change anyone’s mind?

I started with sanding but got nervous about the platting so I switched to acid. But then got a little impatient and did more sanding. I still have just a little more transfer to remove about the port otherwise it’s good to go.

Be careful with acid anywhere near the ports/edge of plating and any scores through the plating; it can eat underneath good plating. Have water w/baking soda for splashes/mistakes